Michael Monroe | Sensory Overdrive

by Alissa Ordabai
Staff Writer —

A joyous throwback to the time of Michael Monroe’s teenage years, the latest solo album, Sensory Overdrive, by the Hanoi Rocks front man and hard rock veteran is a deliberately retro trip into the era of ’70s glam and punk. It’s all about jangling guitars, shout-along choruses, effortless arrangements, and non-obsessive lyrics still capable of imparting simple, hard-earned wisdom.

You can tell Monroe was having a blast with this new batch of cuts by the care-free party vibe he is plunging into here with such rowdy enthusiasm. And even if at times the songs become too simplistic, you still love those short, straightforward tunes for their banging hooks, their propulsive drive and the fact that Monroe is having no qualms about delivering tasty, self-assuredly brash entertainment with zero pretensions.

Genre: Glam Rock, Punk Rock

Michael Monroe – lead vocals
Ginger – guitar, vocals
Steve Conte – guitar, vocals
Sami Yaffa – bass
Karl Rosqvist – drums, percussion

Additional personnel:
Lucinda Williams – vocals on “Gone Baby Gone”
Lemmy – vocals on “Debauchery As a Fine Art”

Track listing:
1. Trick of the Wrist
2. ‘78
3. Got Blood?
4. Superpowered Superfly
5. Modern Day Miracle
6. Bombs Away
7. All You Need
8. Later Won’t Wait
9. Gone, Baby Gone
10. Center of Your Heart
11. Debauchery As a Fine Art
12. Another Night in the Sun
13. You’re Next

Label: Spinefarm Records

Online: http://www.michaelmonroe.com

Hardrock Haven rating: 6.5/10

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.