Hot off the Press

Cradle of Filth | Evermore Darkly EP

by Nikiforos Skoumas
Staff Writer —

In the international music industry of today, releasing a standard CD is all that is expected. Single or EP releases seem a thing of the past for metal in particular, but really it has more to do with the band in question. A lesson learned through the case of Cradle of Filth’s latest release is that an EP still has a place in the contemporary market as a superlative audio-visual complement to an album as opposed to a two-song selection.

Following the release of their latest album Sparkly Darkly Venus Aversea and the subsequent world tour, is this EP entitled Evermore Darkly. Well, this EP comes in a thick book-like digi-pack featuring an 8-track CD and a DVD featuring a rockumentary, a promo video, and a live performance.

The CD features two new songs, plus extended or elder version of five songs originally found on the Sparkly Darkly Venus Aversea album. A rich CD though a tad predictable; shock rock themes, thick guitar riffs, theatrical vocals and the ever-present double-bass attack that defined Filth’s latest studio album, all recreated here.

The rockumentary takes you through the process and events of their latest European tour, including interviews with all band members and Danny Filth in particular along with stage-footage. Note that the film is far from the handicam-put-on-DVD video; it is professionally shot and produced by filming crew and director Ross Bolidai, therefore it should provide a satisfying journey through Filth’s latest endeavors.

Also you have got to love Danny’s sarcastic commentary on the booklet, in his own words he describes this release as “…a total rip off, there’s no mistake to be had about that”. Provided you reach a copy of Evermore Darkly at a reasonable price, this is definitely not a rip-off; it is a complete as it gets package for every fan of Cradle of Filth. Now the only trouble is, with an EP as complete as this, who needs studio albums?

Genre: Blackened Speed Metal, Horror Metal

Line up:
Dani Filth – Vocals
Paul Allender – Guitars
Dave Pybus – Bass
James McIlroy – Guitars
Marthus – Drums
Caroline Campbell – Keyboards, Vocals

Track List:
1. “Transmission from Hell”
2. “Thank Your Lucky Scars”
3. “Forgive Me Father (I Have Sinned)” (Elder Version)
4. “Lilith Immaculate” (Extended Length)
5. “The Persecution Song” (Elder Version)
6. “Forgive Me Father (I’m in a Trance)”
7. “The Spawn of Love and War” (Elder Version)
8. “Summer Dying Fast” (“Midnight in the Labyrinth” breadcrumb trail)

Label: Peaceville, Nuclear Blast

Hardrock Haven raring: 8/10