Hot off the Press

Visigoth | The Revenant King

by Justin Gaines
– Senior Columnist —

VisigothThe traditional Heavy Metal revival in the United States has been in full swing for several years now, but every once in a while a band will emerge from the underground and take the scene by storm. In 2015, one of those bands (Night Demon is the other) is Utah-based Visigoth. Newly signed to Metal Blade for the release of their debut full-length, titled The Revenant King, Visigoth represents the best of old school heavy metal worship with a modern energy and spirit.

The Revenant King’s Cirith Ungol-worthy cover art already suggests the classic Metal Blade sound of the 1980s, and once the title track kicks in that comparison is cemented. Visigoth is a band that takes several cues from bands like Omen and Manilla Road, as well as more recent bands like Grand Magus and Twisted Tower Dire. Chugging riffs are balanced by strong melodies, and heaviness often wins out over speed. Jake Roberts has a powerful and melodic vocal style, which helps give these songs, nearly all of which are quite long by traditional metal standards, a real epic feel.

This is an album without any filler, but The Revenant King does have its highlights. It’s cool to hear the “finished” versions of songs like “Vengeance” and “Creature of Desire” that appeared on their earlier demos, and Visigoth really did Manilla Road justice with their cover of “Necropolis.” The nearly 10-minute “From the Arcane Mists of Prophecy” is the album’s best song though, showcasing all the power and glory Visigoth brings.

The Revenant King is a very strong debut from a band that should have a bright future. It’s good to see new bands taking up the banner of old school heavy metal, especially when those bands go way beyond simply taking the White Wizzard approach. Visigoth is the real deal, and they’re doing heavy traditional metal right. If you’re a fan of Grand Magus, Twisted Tower Dire, Manilla Road, Omen and the like, you need to get your hands on The Revenant King.

Genre: Heavy Metal, Traditional Metal

Jake Rogers (v)
Leeland Campana (g)
Jamison Palmer (g)
Matt Brotherton (b)
Mikey Tee (d)

Track Listing:
1. The Revenant King
2. Dungeon Master
3. Mammoth Rider
4. Blood Sacrifice
5. Iron Brotherhood
6. Necropolis
7. Vengeance
8. Creature of Desire
9. From the Arcane Mists of Prophecy

Label: Metal Blade


Hardrock Haven Rating: 8.75/10