Hot off the Press

Lillian Axe Reissue Two Classic Albums Via Rock Candy Records

Two of the most underrated – but widely respected – heavy metal releases of the late ’80s were undoubtedly the first pair of albums by New Orleans-based hard rock outfit, Lillian Axe – 1988’s self-titled debut and 1989’s ‘Love + War.’ And on May 12th, both will be reissued as “special deluxe collector’s editions” via Rock Candy Records – complete with multi-page booklets, essays, and fully remastered audio, shaped from 24 BIT digital technology.

Both albums can be ordered via the following links:

‘Lillian Axe’ –

‘Love + War’ –

The band – which been led since their inception by guitarist Steve Blaze – caught the attention of metalheads during an era when bands like Ratt ruled the MTV/radio airwaves. And it just so happened that Ratt’s manager at the time, Marshall Berle, crossed paths with the band, and helped broker a recording deal with MCA Records, and in turn, enlisted Ratt’s late guitarist, Robbin Crosby, to produce the group’s debut album – spawning such standout tracks as “Dream of a Lifetime,” “Vision in the Night, “and “The More That You Get.”

Lillian Axe came back even stronger with their sophomore set, ‘Love + War,’ with Tony Platt (who had previously worked with the likes of AC/DC, Def Leppard, and Krokus) serving as producer – which resulted in such rocking tunes as “The World Stopped Turning,” “Show a Little Love,” and “She Likes It on Top.”

Soon, rock fans will get the opportunity to rediscover both ‘Lillian Axe’ and ‘Love + War,’ thanks to the good folks at Rock Candy.

‘Lillian Axe’ Tracklisting:

1. Dream Of A Lifetime 5:18
2. Inside Out 3:57
3. Vision In The Night 3:20
4. Picture Perfect 4:00
5. The More That You Get 3:05
6. Misery Loves Company 3:27
7. Nobody Knows 4:19
8. Hard Luck 4:51
9. Waiting In The Dark 4:28
10. Laughing In Your Face 3:51

‘Love + War’ Tracklisting:

1. All’s Fair in Love and War 5:58
2. She Likes it on Top 3:55
3. Diana 4:46
4. Down on You 4:24
5. The World Stopped Turning 5:00
6. Ghost of Winter 6:18
7. My Number 3:32
8. Show a Little Love 4:36
9. Fool’s Paradise 4:41
10. Letters in the Rain 4:24



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.