Hot off the Press

Redrum | Victims of Our Circumstance

by Nikiforos Skoumas
– Columnist —

RedrumIt has been a good five years since the release of Redrum’s debut album No Turning Back. The Greek-German outfit fronted by renowned singer Michael Bormann has returned with a new offering in melodic hard rock effectively shattering one’s perception of Redrum being a one-off project-album. Guitarists Athan Kazakis and Panos Baxevanis, bassist Alex Kidd and drummer Thanos Sarketzis regroup with the addition of keyboardist Marco Grasshoff

Those who enjoyed their previous album should expect the thick riffs and robust rhythm section that defined their debut only this time expanding on the use of acoustic guitars and keyboards as complements to the songwriting overall. The album opens on the hard rock gang anthem “One of Us-Scream” delivering a plain sing-along chorus as well as a fair amount minor-melodic drama. Next up is “You Can’t Buy No Hero” which opens on a metallic-riff yet developing in the album’s catchiest track; its chorus seems to come straight out of Bon Jovi’s Slippery When Wet or New Jersey. Following is the album’s video-track “Dust in Your Eyes” a seemingly introspective tune with a ‘70s vibe, the closest the album gets to heavy rock. Then comes the ballad “Empty Promises” which softens the rock while retaining the moody tone of its predecessor.

Very important is the inclusion of “Pokerface” clearly the album’s most up-lifting moment followed by the equally naughty “Dirty White Boy” whose chorus might bring to mind the track “Bad Boys” from Michael’s Charade days. These two tracks soften the mood of Victims of Our Circumstance without being overly optimistic. Conclusively Redrum has very little in common with your average melodic hard rock album; indeed it is ‘80s oriented but a lot darker than what we have come to expect from the genre.

Genre: Melodic Hard Rock

Line Up:
Michael Bormann – Vocals
Athan Kazakis – Guitars
Panos Baxevanis – Guitars
Marco Grasshoff – Keyboards
Alex Kidd – Bass
Thanos Sarketzis – Drums

Track List:
1. One of Us
2. Scream
3. You Can’t Buy No Hero
4. Dust in Your Eyes
5. Empty Promises
6. Pokerface
7. Dirty White Boy
8. Mother I’m Coming Home
9. Tear Down the Walls
10. Have a Nice Day
11. Victims of Our Circumstances
12. You’re The Voice

Label: RMB Records

Hardrock Haven rating: 8.5/10