Hot off the Press

M:Pire of Evil | Crucified

by Jenn Carbaugh
– Columnist —

mpire of evil - crucifiedM:Pire of Evil returns with Crucified. They released their debut, six-track Creatures Of The Black album along with the highly respected Hell To The Holy album in 2011 and early 2012. Now, the wait for their newest album is over. Originally, Dunn took on the name Mantas and formed a band that challenged all of the pioneers of the music world. He took inspiration from the greats and made a combination known as Venom. Mantas, a longtime guitarist, and Tony “Demolition Man” Dolan formed M:Pire of Evil in 2010. Initially, they were called Prime Evil, which comes from an illustrious Venom album, but they discovered another band had the name as well. With Crucified being released, heavy metal magic is made.

The album starts out quite strong. “Temples of Ice” has intensely fast guitar riffs and an amazing bass line that causes instant head banging. The howling voice of the “Demolition Man” creates a fierce edge that ends the song with somewhat of a haunting whisper. The steadfast heavy drudge carries on through the next series of songs. All of the songs provide this type of build that makes the entire song have a narrative feel. There are catchy choruses and words that refuse to leave your head. “Need to Kill” is no exception in terms of a song that will stick with you. “Demone” is another hard and fast song that makes Crucified so severe and raw, but it difficult to not discuss every song on this album.

“Crucified” is one of the songs that stuck out the most in terms of a narrative approach. However, there is more than a story being presented within the song. There is a hardcore instrumental background that is perfectly balanced with the roughness of the vocals. The solos done by Mantas are so memorable in this song as well. For being the song titled after the album, it creates such an impact.

M:Pire of Evil have a sound of their own, and the scales and technical abilities that this band can cover within an album is mind-blowing. Each song proves that these musicians complete one another. Mantas has such quick shredding fingers with every riff he plays. Keeping up with the speed of Mantas, the drums are done in a heavy but technical sense. It is all brought together with the primal sound and tension in the “Demolition Man’s” voice. This three sound phenomenal together, and this album is not disappointing in any way.

Genre: Heavy Metal

Jeff “Mantas” Dunn – guitar
Tony “Demolition Man” Dolan – vocals, bass
Marc “JXN” Jackson – drums

Track Listing:
01. Temples of Ice
02. Parasite
03. Kissing the Beast
04. Blackened Are the Priests
05. Carnivorous
06. Black Legions
07. Need to Kill
08. Wolverine
09. Crucified
10. Demone
11. Taking It All

Label: Mausoleum Records


Hardrock Haven rating: 8.5/10